"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

>a new york minute: the time between the light turns green, and the guy behind you honks his horn

>saturday, shannon and i got this wicked theatre-dinner package. we saw the classic musical Cabaret in the west end and then had dinner at Sugar Reef, all for 20 quid! the show was pure eye-candy, colours, lights, bodies in motion, wild costumes, very Bob Fosse, great evocation of Weimar berlin, early 1930s, great tragic love story, great political message (even if the message has been done to death a gazillion times before). it wasn’t the best musical i’ve ever seen, but i appreciated it for what it was. the stage was constantly moving, and there was never a dull moment. i’m not too keen on big budget musicals, but they entertain you, so you get your money’s worth.

loved the gratuitous nudity.

rock out with your cock out.


shannon at the dinner table


the place was pretty posh:)


why does my camera make the lights all fuzzy?!



look at her giggle, she can’t take it!



this is my “yes, i’m a normal gal” pose . . . but you all know the truth.


chow down!


god, i look like a nimrod….a nimrod with CLEAVAGE.


after Sugar Reef we went to Tiger Tiger



. . .and then Revolution . . .


and then Digress! mmm, sweet drinks and cute boys abound!

shannon is turning into one of my favourite gal-pals. this is a beautiful girl (um hello? classic beauty!) who has gone through so much in her life, makes me feel pathetic for whining about my little girly problems. and she is so strong and so wise, she has metamorphed the shit life threw at her and turned it into a brick-wall of knowledge that is indestructible. i think i can learn so much from her.

yesterday, i had a chrissy-exploring-london day. first i went to brick lane, which i found completely by accident. i was meant to go to spitalfields market, but the market was just a super-expensive version of actual street markets for frou-frou mayfair dickheads. brick lane, on the other hand, was the balls-out real deal.


execution. ’nuff said.


best graffitti ever. apparently banksy operates in the area of brick lane. don’t think this is him.


street performers jamming.


proof.


i love how underneath the street sign, it’s translated into bengali!


double bass throb.


aww, the weird chicken-like figures sporadically placed around the area are kissing.


this little communal area was just kinda thrown together in the corner of a dilapidated warehouse.


we all come here at one point or another.

after brick lane, i made the hike up to hampstead heath. karl marx used to picnic here. i mean, come on!


oh boys, you two can get a little closer than that. how about a snuggle?


i would love to dance all night here.


let it swallow me whole.


the infamous kite flyers of parliament hill


there’s a sweet taste in my mouth.


i was born tomorrow.
today i live.
yesterday killed me.


they say parliament hill is where guy fawkes and his cronies stood to overlook the house of lords as it was supposed to explode.


somewhere down below, between the concrete, cobbles, and cafes, you’ll find me


you’ll hold me down and kiss me by the green and the steeple.

gumtree is the british version of craiglist.

scanning the missed connection section, i found this.

that’s me.

the second time in my life i’ve had a shout-out in a missed connection column.

no matter how much i try to suck it up, someone is noticing.

i can’t hide.

ben and i went to the o2 arena cinema to see disturbia last night.

supposed to be a rear window-homage, we spent most of the flick elbowing and poking each other, making sly comments, and sucking down the huge diet coke we stupidly bought.

we talked a lot after the flick over beers and bellinis.

when we ventured out into the crush of midnight, we fell under drizzle.

we know now . . . that we were pressing ourselves together only to pull ourselves apart.

. . .

somewhere out there, there’s a boy and girl lying together on a single bed in wimborne. he’s telling her that he loves her, and she’s welling up with tears.

i’m flying out to new york city tomorrow.

don’t wait up.

2 responses

  1. Sabah

    Hi,I’m commenting because I saw your blog address scribbled in a book in tottenham court rd muji…and well, I’m inquisitive, so I tried to make a mental note of the address (but only managed to remember it days later). Plus I tried putting post-its with my email on inside library books at the start of this summer, because I was spending a lot of time there working and wanted some interesting emails, but I got none 😦 so I decided that if I ever found a direction to a website/email someone had put somewhere, I’d visit it!Oh, and I liked looking at your photos…brick lane rules! Grr, I wanted to leave my email but blogger obviously doesn’t think that’s important..anyway – glitterstorm@gmail.com x

    September 24, 2007 at 11:55 PM

  2. >Hi,I’m commenting because I saw your blog address scribbled in a book in tottenham court rd muji…and well, I’m inquisitive, so I tried to make a mental note of the address (but only managed to remember it days later). Plus I tried putting post-its with my email on inside library books at the start of this summer, because I was spending a lot of time there working and wanted some interesting emails, but I got none 😦 so I decided that if I ever found a direction to a website/email someone had put somewhere, I’d visit it!Oh, and I liked looking at your photos…brick lane rules! Grr, I wanted to leave my email but blogger obviously doesn’t think that’s important..anyway – glitterstorm@gmail.com x

    September 24, 2007 at 11:55 PM

Leave a Reply

