"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

>sweetheart, bitterheart, now i can’t tell you apart; cosy and cold, put the horse before the cart

>
remember last month when i mentioned a tv network here in london was interested in casting me in one of their shows

i thought i didn’t get it because i didn’t hear back from them. oh well. i did my best. life goes on. NEXT!

got a phone call from them yesterday afternoon.

their executive producers wanted to meet with me.

rushed to their studios after work . . . this time the interview wasn’t filmed, all very relaxed, just a chat about the show and a bit more about myself . . .

so here’s the deal – the producers and the production company love me . . . but the final say goes to the big-wig top execs at the major tv network that will air the show. and their criteria for choosing the cast depends, quite frankly, on their mood at any given moment. they may not want to choose me for several reasons – because i’m canadian and they want an all-british cast . . . because i may have a look/appearance/features/ethnic-origin similar to someone else they’re casting in the show and they don’t want to double-up . . . or simply because they don’t like me.

the meeting was really positive and the producers have all expressed a desire to work with me. they say i’m one of the strongest candidates they’ve seen, and they think i would stand out and really have an impact on the show. they’ll make a case for me to the network and assured me that even if the network decides not to go with me, they still produce many other shows and will definitely keep me in mind for other projects. they’ve all been so great and warm, and this has been a fun experience:)

i can’t divulge what the nature of the show is or even what network it will be airing on. i have signed a confidentiality agreement. they even have to do a police background check on me and i have to be assessed by their psychologist! fun!

i’m supposed to find out in about 1-2 weeks what the network has come back with. so once i know, you’ll know…

but if i do get it: filming takes place on the other side of the planet, and i’ll hafta disappear for about a month. no phone, no internet, probably have to quit my new job.

i love the idea of disappearing.

i want to be your ghost.

keep your fingers crossed for me.

8 responses

  1. Good luck! Of course, if it’s a British show, I’ll probably never see it in Canada, but I wish you luck anyway.(You know, I started reading your blog when I was looking for blogs by people in Toronto, but I kept reading even when you left the city. I suppose I should do another search for “local” blogs, but I’m just too lazy…)

    January 10, 2008 at 2:27 PM

  2. >Good luck! Of course, if it’s a British show, I’ll probably never see it in Canada, but I wish you luck anyway.(You know, I started reading your blog when I was looking for blogs by people in Toronto, but I kept reading even when you left the city. I suppose I should do another search for “local” blogs, but I’m just too lazy…)

    January 10, 2008 at 2:27 PM

  3. Anonymous

    Hey that’s amazing!! Good luck!! I’m sending good karma and positive thoughts your way! –maria

    January 10, 2008 at 5:46 PM

  4. >Hey that’s amazing!! Good luck!! I’m sending good karma and positive thoughts your way! –maria

    January 10, 2008 at 5:46 PM

  5. Eventhough I don’t know you. Good luck.

    January 11, 2008 at 12:30 PM

  6. >Eventhough I don’t know you. Good luck.

    January 11, 2008 at 12:30 PM

  7. Miss you already.

    January 13, 2008 at 3:57 AM

  8. >Miss you already.

    January 13, 2008 at 3:57 AM

Leave a Reply

