"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

I wasn’t going to blog about this, but ….

So something happened last weekend that I wasn’t sure if I should blog about, but a few days have passed and I have reflected on it a bit so I guess it’s kosher to talk about now.


Click here to enlarge the photo.

So this happened. The link might not work anymore by the time you read this because Craigslist ads are notoriously short-lived. But yeah…. this is definitely about me.

Apart from the fact that his punctuation is atrocious (dude, put a period in there somewhere!), this is, I guess, kinda nice and flattering?

I’m having a hard time with it because although he’s paying me a compliment, it also kind of angers me. I remember this exchange (although i’m drawing a blank when it comes to remembering his face) and it was all very benign. We were just talking about my shitty old camera and about a lot of the graffiti one might find in the area. So why his post has a romantic vibe to it makes me feel like less of a human being and more of an object.

I’m probably reading too much into his few short sentences. I guess I’m at an age (read: breaking point) where I don’t like being ogled when I’m out in public. Leave that for the teenagers. I want to be treated like a member of the community, as a human being, and as a distinct soul. Not as a possible date.

Am I being mean?

I’m being mean, aren’t I?

I didn’t respond to his post … wouldn’t want him to discover I’m actually a moody cow.

Anyway, fanks to the bajillion people who flooded my email inbox, facebook, and text messages, giving me a head’s up about this and sending me the link! Nice to know my readers have got my back.

2 responses

  1. Mean. Definitely mean! It’s a hard life being a bloke, you know. And I can’t belive anyone has ever found their “missed connections” post on Craigs List! You must have been looking though…
    FM

    June 9, 2012 at 10:28 AM

    • Oh yeah, life as a bloke is so hard when you control the world and everything on earth caters to you. My heart bleeds for you. As for your second accusation, you clearly didn’t even read my fucking post. I was alerted to it from a bajillion of my readers. Funny how your comment is more objectifying than the Missed Connection …. typical.

      June 9, 2012 at 3:42 PM

Leave a Reply

