"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

Nick Walker loves New York

Nick Walker is giving Banksy a run for his money by selling for hundreds of thousands of pounds of his art at auction. Yet he still  puts up these amazing stencils. I had seen Brooklyn Street Art’s mega-blog-exposé of this piece in early June when it was erected, but I actually found this piece the other day by accident!

I was wandering down Ludlow in the Lower East Side in a listless, dizzy fashion, basically dragging my body down the street. I was so out of it because of the heat and i had to sit down on a few doorsteps and put my head between my  legs. Anyhoo, I reach Delancey and am going as fast as I can across the intersection because it’s in direct sunlight. I get to the other side, and BAM, it’s like forget the heat, this shit is killing me with awesome!

also, i apologize for not being able to get a full-across-the-street-shot of this. as soon as i found it, a stupid huge ass truck pulled up RIGHT IN FRONT of it and blocked half the sidewalk. i had to snap these photos while squeezing up next to the truck which never turned off its engine.

normally, as any good photographer would, i would have stuck around and waited for the truck to leave to get the shot. but the heat nearly fucked me right in the ear.

IN THE EAR, PEOPLE.

anyway, Nick Walker, i heart YOU my friend.

2 responses

  1. Your story sounds like mine! I too was wandering about Ludlow a few days ago when I discovered this piece. Loved it! If you haven’t already, you should check out his other one in the meatpacking district.

    July 2, 2012 at 2:12 PM

Leave a Reply

