"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

Day of Hanksy Part 1: Feral Cats

Today, my lovely delicious munchkins, you are in for a treat. Every blog post today will feature a work of street art by Hanksy that I have found! I already have a Hanksy category dedicated to his work if you’re not sure who he is or what his style and ethos is like. But for those of you in the KNOW, let us begin.

First piece: found in Freeman Alley, this is Hanksy’s Feral Cats.


now at first glance, they look like cats with human faces, but upon closer inspection …


… these are the faces of Will Ferrell, Colin Farrell, and Pharrell. Hence the term “Feral” cats!!

Get it? SO CLEVER!


This one looks like it has a Will Ferrell Ron Burgundy face.


These wheatpastes were erected not that long ago, but it looked like they were already in the process of being ripped off. The last time I was in Freeman Alley, it was a helluva lot busier with more art. So much of that was gone. WHO CLEANS UP FREEMAN ALLEY? (Rhetorical question). That shouldn’t be allowed.


I almost missed this one because it was way in the back of the alley!


This one DEFINITELY has a Ron Burgundy face!!


You can just hear him saying, “I’m kind of a big deal. I want to be ON you.”


I’M IN A GLASS CAGE OF EMOTION!


I just hadda get a shot of me kissing Colin Farrell. He’s on my laminated list of 5.
(Pharrell is as well, now that I think about it.)
Giggity.

5 responses

  1. This is gorgeous! You are amazing! =)

    July 3, 2012 at 11:37 AM

  2. It is a shame that whenever a new piece goes up in the alley it’s only there for a short time before it’s either ripped/covered up with something else/or taken down. My opinion though is that at least it makes room for new art! Here’s 2 more cats that were up before they vanished:

    HAVE FUN HUNTING!

    July 3, 2012 at 11:55 AM

    • yeah, i was looking for those two pieces but i guess the owners of the buildings surrounding Freeman Alley cleaned them off. i mean really, who does that?!

      July 3, 2012 at 11:59 AM

  3. Pingback: Inside @Station16MTL’s Street Art Gallery | The Spadina Monologues

Leave a Reply

