"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

SWOON!

I have been a massive fan of Swoon’s for YEARS! Forget the fact that her wheatpastes are inspired, raw, provocative, ethereal, fire-infused and meaning-potent …. but on top of her immense artistic talent, she’s also a fricken genius. There are videos of her on youtube lecturing at universities BECAUSE of her street art. Some people treat graffiti as vandalism, and others treat it with intellectual respect.

Also, I love the fact that she’s a well-respected and successful street artist in what is usually a boys-only-club. I’ve spoken to many other street artists about this, and although there are women doing graff, it is by and large an activity undertaken by men. Lots of speculation as to why this is, no one is particularly sure. But it’s nice to see women succeeding here as well.

Anyhoo, I found TWO Swoons!  TWO!!


First, I found this gorgeous boy on McKibbon in Bushwick, Brooklyn. I remember crouching down to look at this and saying outloud to myself, “Is this Swoon?” I wasn’t 100% sure (she never tags her work! argh!) but I am familiar with her style and form, and instinctively thought of her. After some online digging… yup, it’s her!


and here’s the second one, which really is probably my most favourite thing I’ve ever photographed or found while graff hunting …. ever.


this was on Hudson street in Greenpoint, Brooklyn.


And the best part is, I almost didn’t go down this street! It was blazing hot outside (as usual) and I had been graff hunting for a few hours, sweating my tits off. I had just emerged from India street which had a treasure trove of cool graff, but when i turned the corner for Hudson street, and peered down to the dead end, I couldn’t see anything of interest. It was mostly tagging. But i thought to myself I might as well investigate it just in case. Right before I reached my wits end and turned around, I saw the white doily-part of this piece in the distance and moved in closer. Fuck am I glad I stayed on that street! In a sea of boring tags, this was like an oasis in the desert.


look at the detailing she put into the paper! Such much intricacy.


even their feet are detailed.

Anyway this is a huge coup for me. Sure I’ve photographed Banksy, Shepard Fairey, Space Invader, Roa, Antony Lister, Gaia, Hanksy, C215, Curtis Kulig, Dolk, Fauxreel, Jef Aerosol, JR, Nick Walker, Retna, and even Mr Brainwash …… but now I’ve photographed SWOON!! In my lil’ street photography pastime, this is a big deal.

I’m rather chuffed, I must say!

4 responses

  1. Love. ❤

    July 8, 2012 at 1:46 PM

  2. Pingback: les articles Qu’LM – « quandLM

  3. Pingback: Swoon (I’ll catch you) | The Spadina Monologues

Leave a Reply

