"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

I’m going to Thailand and Cambodia!

Last week I hinted that about my future plans to resume the backpacking lifestyle, and I can now confirm that I am indeed heading off to Thailand and Cambodia in October! I have been a backpacker since 2005 at the age of 24 when I first galavanted across Europe and the Middle East on my own and subsequently changed my life.

(Owing to how old this blog actually is, I was BLOGGING way back then, and you can read about that first backpacking trip, starting with my first stop in Budapest, here. At the end of that post, look for the arrows before the comments which will lead you to the subsequent blog posts…).

Ever since that first trip, I have made it an annual tradition to fuck off somewhere new. If I don’t, the backpack under my bed starts hissing at me. Since 2005, I have made it to every single country in Europe, the UK and Ireland, the Middle East, Asia, South America, the Caribbean, USA and Canada. There are still so many places in the world I want to hit up, and Thailand and Cambodia have been elbowing me since 2009 when I first explored Asia (India to be exact, read that blog post here), and although I also wanted to see Vietnam, Laos, and Indonesia, they will have to wait until  next time.

I have booked myself a ticket on Qatar Airways (I had heard of them, but they weren’t on my radar until I noticed Porter Airlines was partnered with them), and turns out they have been voted the World’s Best Airline for a few years now. Considering that my ticket is a multi-city ticket and it was LESS than $1000 for the whole kit n’ caboodle, I am going to have to agree with their prestigious title.

My ticket takes me from JFK  (I’m going to take the bus down to NYC and stay there for the weekend before my flight) to Doha in Qatar, and then to Bangkok. After a month in Thailand, I fly over to Phnom Penh in Cambodia where I’ll stay for about a week. Then I make my way back to Bangkok where I’ll fly to Doha and then to London, England. I will probably stay in London for about a week, but I haven’t booked my flight home to Canada yet. We’ll see how London goes. I lived there for a long time and just want some time to reconnect with my friends there.

I’m still planning most of my activities whilst in Thailand and Cambodia, but it looks like I’m going to hit up Bangkok (obvi), Ayutthaya, Kanchanaburi (where the Bridge over the River Kwai is located!), Sukhothai, Chiang Mai, Pai, Phuket, Koh Samui, and finally Koh Phangan for the Full Moon Party! Then in Cambodia I’ll check out Phnom Penh, Sihanoukville, and Siem Reap for the Angkor Wat temples.

Most of my activities will involve cycling, temple-hopping, tubing, hiking, snorkelling, canoeing and kayaking, caving, swimming and beaching, and just a lot of wanderlust by foot. Oh and lest we forget, GRAFFITI AND STREET ART HUNTING! Five weeks of awesomeness, n’est-ce pas?

Anyway, leading up to this trip, I’m going to be posting a lot more travel-related stuff, especially from my past extravaganzas. Today, it’s a photo-retrospective of some of the places I’ve been to since 2005. Enjoy the slideshow above!

(Making that slideshow, it was weird looking at how my face has changed since I was 24. I’m 31 now and I feel like only in the past few years I have grown into my looks. At 24, I still felt pretty awkward in my own skin. It’s an amazing retrospective if only to see how I’ve grown.)

So if you’re going to be around New York, Bangkok, Phnom Penh, or London in October and November, let a sistah know. HANGS!

Also, check out  my Travel category for lots of past posts, photos, and videos on my global excursions 🙂

10 responses

  1. Have a great time! A friend of mine just returned from a year abroad. He spent quite a bit of time in Thailand and Cambodia. He’d probably still be there if he didn’t get really home sick and/or run out of money. 🙂 If you want to talk to him, let me know, I can put you in touch with him – a non-twitter person too 🙂

    September 4, 2012 at 8:49 AM

    • Cool, fanks Cory! i’m still in the planning stages of my trip but i might want to talk to him when it gets down the wire! ack, so excited! xx

      September 4, 2012 at 9:51 AM

  2. Pingback: Oh the places you’ll go « The Spadina Monologues

  3. Pingback: Ermahgerd! I’m returning to Europe with Eurail.com! « The Spadina Monologues

  4. Pingback: Llama said KNOCK YOU OUT « The Spadina Monologues

  5. Pingback: BE HERE NOW « The Spadina Monologues

  6. Pingback: What happens when a woman is tired of London? « The Spadina Monologues

  7. Pingback: Love me till I’m me again « The Spadina Monologues

  8. Pingback: This is how I pay it forward « The Spadina Monologues

  9. Pingback: See you later Canada, I’m off to Thailand & Cambodia NOW! « The Spadina Monologues

Leave a Reply

