"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

Ermahgerd! I’m returning to Europe with Eurail.com!

Some MORE exciting travel news to announce! This has been in the works for a little while now and I’ve had to keep a lid on it, but now I’ve been given the green light to tell all of my little munchkins!

I have been selected by the good people at Eurail.com to blog, tweet, vlog & photog my way across Europe, armed with some wanderlust and a Eurail Global Pass. I have to hit up at least 12 cities in my favourite continent within 30 days, along with the challenge of posting daily about the adventures I’ll have, the people I’ll meet, the wonderful places I’ll see, and relaying some tips, tricks, and advice about rail travel.

But there’s a catch (of course!):

I have to live on €15 a DAY.

A DAY, PEOPLE!

Eurail.com will provide me with the rail pass and the funds, I just have to use the funds EXTREMELY WISELY.

FINALLY MY PARSIMONIOUSNESS IS BEING PUT TO GOOD USE!

Many of you are probably thinking you could never travel on such a tight budget. Well, as the most frugal backpacker on the planet, I am here to tell you that yes you can.

Many people don’t travel because they think they can’t afford it, that it is a luxury reserved for the rich and idle. I know from years of travel experience that, as long as you rely on your resourcefulness & ingenuity, remain flexible, read the fine print, and pre-plan, you can have an amazing holiday adventure that costs less than a day’s wage. And guess what, you don’t have to skimp on luxury or security (or hygiene, haha) just because you’re not paying top dollar.

I’m going to start this European extravaganza directly after my Thailand & Cambodia Situation (which I have tentatively dubbed The SituAsian. See what I did there?), so expect a more detailed plan of attack around mid-November.

 

So how did I score this deal?

Many of my long-time readers know that I work hard to have a social media presence. Interacting and engaging in social media has not only rewarded me with writing gigs (yay paycheques!) but also with a quality of living I wouldn’t normally be able to afford (I always say that if I wanted to be rich, I wouldn’t have become a writer).

Everything from VIP music performances (DeadMau5, Dragonette, Estelle, USS, et.al.) and Toronto International Film Festival galas (barf!), to major travel opportunities.

Ford lent me car so I could take a road trip to Montreal.

Karikuy Tours sent me to Peru so I could climb Machu Picchu.

And Via Rail put me on the cross-Canada train from Toronto to Vancouver, culminating in my lecture at the Social Media Week Conference about my experiences.

And by the grace of Twitter, that’s how I managed to be selected for this opportunity as well. A little over a month ago, I saw this below tweet pop up in my feed.

It generated a lot of discussion in the travel circles, and I noticed a lot of travel bloggers vying for the gig. I ruminated on this opportunity for a few days before finally getting in touch with them and making a case for myself. I had a lot of ideas, and of course a lot of travel experience, so I knew if I were chosen for this I would definitely be able make the experience worthwhile & exciting.

After about a month of discussion and negotiations (they raised it from €10 a day to €15 a day! PHEWF!), Eurail.com chose me for the experience!

ERMAHGERD! TERVERL!

I will be revealing more details about this cross-European extravaganza around mid-November. Right now I have to divert all my efforts into preparing for my Thailand-Cambodia-SituAsian (I’m sticking with that name, I don’t care what you say).

In the meantime, munchkins, I hope more of you will be encouraged to push yourselves out of your comfort zone & experience something new!

Get cape.
Wear cape.
Fly.

12 responses

  1. Pingback: Ermahgerd! I’m returning to Europe with Eurail.com! | Home Far Away From Home

  2. Pingback: BE HERE NOW « The Spadina Monologues

  3. Pingback: What happens when a woman is tired of London? « The Spadina Monologues

  4. Pingback: Love me till I’m me again « The Spadina Monologues

  5. Pingback: This is how I pay it forward « The Spadina Monologues

  6. Pingback: See you later Canada, I’m off to Thailand & Cambodia NOW! « The Spadina Monologues

  7. Pingback: Ermahgerd! My Eurail.com adventure begins! « The Spadina Monologues

  8. timelapsedarkroom

    Just read this background on your current travels – you must be having a blast! Definitely seems like you’re making the most of it.

    December 9, 2012 at 5:39 PM

  9. Pingback: Ermahgerd! My Eurail.com adventure begins! | The Spadina Monologues

  10. Pingback: Ermahgerd! My Eurail.com adventure begins! | The Spadina Monologues

  11. Pingback: Video: Get Rich or Die Mayan | The Spadina Monologues

Leave a Reply

