"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

Check out my short story in the latest issue of The New Quarterly!

20121025-203541.jpg
All my loyal munchkins and hombres! I’ve been sitting on this news for months and couldn’t talk about it til now! My latest short story, entitled “The Cipher Hangs,” has been sold and published in the newest issue of The New Quarterly! For those of you outside of the literary world, TNQ is one of Canada’s most prestigious literary magazines, publishing only the finest in prose, poetry, and creative non-fiction (Er…and me). For a frame of reference, I’ve been trying to get published in TNQ since 2005! They’re super hard to crack. So when they bought this piece, I was as giddy as a schoolgirl (and well chuffed).

20121025-203548.jpg
Here’s a scan of the first page of my short story to whet your appetite.

When the editors contacted me to let me know they had accepted it for publication, they said, “‘Poetic language and intimate details make this a compelling read… a good story…the brutality of trying to have some kind of life in a war zone is well-portrayed…. We are always excited to publish innovative fiction and were especially thrilled with this story.”

Aw, shucks!

Anyway, go online, or to fine bookstores everywhere, and buy the Fall 2012 issue 124 of The New Quarterly!

Lemme know what you fink.

3 responses

  1. Liana

    good on ya, girl!

    October 25, 2012 at 1:58 PM

  2. Pingback: Read my latest short story published in The Madison Review! | The Spadina Monologues

Leave a Reply

