"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

Bangkok Bronchitis

20121111-113154.jpg
Remember when I reported on my cold symptoms over a week ago? Well even after antibiotics, my situation got steadily worse. Then when I flew back to Thailand, marvelling at the skies…..

20121111-113619.jpg
…even though I was in an excellent mood, I didn’t realize just how bad my “SituAsian”-situation was.

I started coughing up blood. Not little specks of blood. Huge dollops. When I blew my nose, it was more blood than mucous.

I woke up yesterday morning in Bangkok, hot all over, weak, achey, bloody, and freaking out. I started bawling and spoke to the hostel staff, who took me to a clinic across the street. The doctor there said I have bronchitis. Even though I’m having no problem breathing (the symptom most associated with bronchitis), everything else seems to line up. He put me on a different kind of antibiotic, gave me some painkillers to soothe the cough, and told me to come back in 48 hours if I’m not feeling better.

Well, even if I’m not feeling better, I won’t be going back, because tomorrow I fly to Lundy-Lundy-Lundy!

LONDON!

I’m coming home!

I can always go see my old GP in London if I don’t get better. 2 weeks with this bug and two different kinds of antibiotics, I’m so OVER the medical profession.

What’s getting me down, more than this cold, is how it has ruined my last two days of my SituAsian. I wanted to do a day trip to the ruins of Ayutthaya whilst here, maybe do some shopping at MBK, or even check out the floating markets. Bangkok is a brilliant cosmopolitan city with so much to do, and here I am bedridden like a wimp. I keep looking out the window next to my bunk and feeling like I’ve ruined and wasted the end of my trip here.

I guess nothing is more important than ones health.

Oh and there was an earthquake in Myanmar and we felt it in Bangkok. I thought it was a noisy water heater.

I’m fine.

Leave a Reply

