"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

Eurail day 5: Ljubljana to Padua

20121123-215942.jpg
Today was a travel day! I had to get up super early in Ljubljana, actually 6am to make it on time to the train station. And to get to Padua, I decided not to take a direct high speed train because, of course, it would require a reservation! On this Eurail Extravaganza, we don’t buy no stinkin’ reservations! So in order to get around reservations, I had to take four trains. FOUR TRAINS! I don’t mind taking the trains, it was making all the connections that worried me! If one if my trains was late or delayed, I could be stuck somewhere for a day until the next train arrived!

Here’s the route I took from Ljubljana to Padua that required zero reservations:
Ljubljana to Villach Hauptbahnhof in Austria.
Villach to Udine in Italy.
Udine to Venezia Mestre (one stop away from Venice’s main train station)
Venezia Mestre to Padova.

Now here’s something interesting. Technically, on the Venezia Mestre-Padova leg of the journey, I was required to buy a reservation. That’s what online rail schedule said. But I noticed that the journey was only 10 minutes long. Which means that the ticket officer probably wouldn’t come around to check tickets in such a short time.

And, as luck would have it, I was right! I got off at Padova with no one having checked my ticket. Of course, I don’t recommend getting on trains without the proper tickets, because they could easily kick you off the train, fine you, or arrest you. Actually, 7 years ago when I was taking the train to Venice, my very first time in Italy, I had been told that I didn’t need a reservation for that train but it turned out I did, and guess who had zero cash on her that day! I told the ticket officer that I had my credit and debit cards, but he wouldn’t take them. I got really nervous and told him I didn’t know what to do. He looked really annoyed but I guess he took pity on me because he just let me stay on the train. He could have kicked me off if he wanted to.

But whatever, today I got lucky!

And now I’m in this wonderful city that Shakespeare would not shut up about! Huzzah!

20121123-215948.jpg
And what a gorgeous journey it was to Padua! My trains swirled through the mountains and little stone cottages, village roads, old men on bicycles, farms and streams and valleys! And the train stations, like Villach above, we’re really lovely.

20121123-215958.jpg
I’m sorry, I didn’t order this ornate, sumptuous landscape, could you take it back please … SAID NO ONE EVER.

Anyway, as I have mentioned in previous blogs, I decided to come to Italy , one of the more expensive countries in Europe, because Eurail set me a mini-challenge. They told me I could either travel through Italy, or photograph as many people as possible holding my rail pass, or visit 3 cities in one day.

Well, I think today I accomplished the first task and the third task! I didn’t like the idea of having other people hold my Eurail pass because its worth a lot of money! No body touches my pass except moi!

So, I can see why Eurail considers travelling through Italy a mini-challenge because living off of €15 a day is really hard! This is my fourth time in Italy but I guess I never paid too much attention to the money I was spending here. Now that I’m forced to, wow is it pricey! Even in this small town!

Luckily, I saved up so much money in Croatia and Slovenia (now you see why I started off there?!) so if I run over €15, it’s not the end of the world. I’m operating on a surplus!

Here’s how I spent my money today.

20121123-223108.jpg
Right now I’m with my lovely Couchsurfing host Frida in Padua, and I’m zonked. Off to bed! Can’t wait for tomorrow, as Padua awaits this little lass.

One response

  1. Pingback: Eurail day 7: Padua to Innsbruck, How to avoid train reservations « The Spadina Monologues

Leave a Reply

