"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

Roa’s Pecker Bird in Peckham Rye

Last week I was travelling along the London Overground and as the train passed through Peckham Rye in South London, I saw this Roa from the train. I made a mental note to come back and find it. Which I did yesterday! I had to hop an iron fence, and probably trespass on someone’s private property…. but whatevs. Totally worth it. Look at me, I’m hardcore. ME!

This pecker is standing on a pile of bones, not in a manner which suggests she just ate these dead creatures, but more like she’s protecting her lovely bones. I  like that idea… that winged things are loyal even in death.

 

You’ll notice here that Roa made the pile of bones crawl along the side of the wall and onto another.

EXTREME CLOSE UP! Who do you think would win in a staring contest?

This is the the curve of the wall, and the trail of bones continues.

And this skull of what looks like a Billy Goat was on the perpendicular wall.

I also found a Phlegm mural in this exact same location, which I will blog soon.

Check out my Roa category for more of his pieces that I have photographed around the world!

11 responses

  1. REALLY cool stuff!

    January 29, 2013 at 4:02 PM

  2. These photo’s are awesome! Makes me want to get out and about and explore places I’ve never been before. Nice find!

    January 29, 2013 at 4:20 PM

  3. Wow! Amazing!

    January 29, 2013 at 5:11 PM

  4. Pingback: Phlegm in Peckham Rye « The Spadina Monologues

  5. John

    Amazing! Was it easy to get access? I need to go see this for myself 🙂

    February 11, 2013 at 12:32 PM

    • well it’s in the courtyard for a cafe, so if the cafe is open, it should be pretty easy to access!

      February 11, 2013 at 3:56 PM

  6. Pingback: Roa’s got Phlegm | The Spadina Monologues

Leave a Reply

