"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

A Winged Victory for the Sullen

20130728-195809.jpg
This is where I’ll be living for the next little while, at least until mid-September. I’m house sitting and catsitting for some friends of mine in Belgium. I have this place all to myself.
20130728-195858.jpg
Six bedrooms, five and a half bathrooms (I know, I counted… Twice), a grand piano and a pool. I’ve never lived in a gated community before but this is the perfect environment for me to work on my writing and shut out the 21st century.
20130728-195908.jpg
So much space, I don’t really know what to do with all this space to myself.
20130728-195927.jpg
If only I knew how to play that piano. I would love to invite a post-classical pianist to dinner in exchange for some tunes. Can anyone put me in touch with A Winged Victory For The Sullen?
20130728-195938.jpg
The days here are warm and balmy, the evenings are fragrant with fresh rain mingling with chopped pine and grass.
20130728-195954.jpg
The view of the pool from the main bedroom.
20130728-200003.jpg
Did I mention they bought me a bike right before they left? So lightweight and fun and easy to handle. Life isn’t complete without daily rides through forests, cornfields and wheat husks.
20130728-200011.jpgSay hello Annie. This is my ward. She’s diabetic so I have to give her insulin injections twice daily. She’s not bothered by it at all, she’s used to it and purrs whilst I do it.

I’m the one crying.

When I return to civilization in September, at least I will have the first draft of my second novel done. This lovely house and that blessed accomplishment are my severance pay … a winged victory for the sullen.

(PS: Knock loud, I’m home.)

One response

  1. Pingback: A Symphony Pathetique | The Spadina Monologues

Leave a Reply

