"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

The private sphere in times of dictatorship, 1939

20140617-125826-46706785.jpg

I found this photograph at the Topographie Des Terrors open-air museum in Berlin. It elicited a “holy shit” aloud from me.

I’m not 100% sure what the message is of this photo. Is it Nazi propaganda? Was it simply a day-in-the-life shot taken by a street photographer? Or, was it a photograph of resistance? I can see elements of all three in this shot, so I really don’t have the answer. It reminds me a great deal of that infamous 2011 Vancouver riots kiss-shot. And look at that blanket they’re lying on– looks like a concentration camp prison jacket.

In any case, my “holy shit” still stands.

Holy shit, you guys.

One response

  1. Holy shit, you pretty much described my exact reaction!

    June 17, 2014 at 2:21 PM

Leave a Reply

