"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

#Laser314: Her Brows Were All It Took


As many of you know, I’ve been photographing Laser 3.14‘s street art for well over a year now. I’ve blogged his work so much, that him and I have become friendly. Friendly enough that he even gave me the nickname “Brows” because of my infamous eyebrows (they really are the only reason people like me, let’s be honest). Every time I’m in Amsterdam, he let’s me know the locations of some of his latest works so I can go on a graff-hunt. Anyway, since I had recently been in-and-around the ‘dam for 3 weeks, he sent me on a hunt, and the above piece in question was found on the Vijzelgracht near the Weteringsplein.

I am forever humbled and obliged.

Here are some of his newest works to be found on the streets of my beloved Amsterdam.


The future is already haunting us


Children of the electric funk


Promises of heaven
Giving us hell


I peel off my skin
So I can reach the inner me


The drapes are drawn
Our bodies entangled
Intertwined
(This one is my favourite, obvi)


My favourite thing about this photograph is the shadow of the guy next to me who took a swig from his liquor bottle right as I snapped this photograph, and the shadow of him falls upon Laser’s work, giving it a level of potency, methinks.


Welcome to (my life). This was number 1.


This was number 2.


Versace never reassured me.
This was particularly potent because the street it was on had some pretty upmarket high street shops like Gucci and Ermenegildo Zegna.


The certainty of uncertainty

(this to me is like the flip side of the ol’ Death and Taxes saying)


It’s clear
It’s lucid
Just fine


Heed
the Vortex
Of bloodshed
And violence


Yours too? What are the odds!


She explodes
golden arches
Everywhere


She controls the knob
Or as I like to think of this one, “She stoops to conquer.” Har har.
Laser told me this one is actually around 3 or 4 years old, so we’re both shocked it’s still kicking around!

Check out my Laser 3.14 category so you can see all of his pieces that I’ve photographed in Amsterdam. And the next time you’re in the ‘dam, make sure you check out his work!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: 2014: The Year That Taught Me Exactly What I’m Made Of | The Spadina Monologues

  2. Pingback: Check out my new story in the latest issue of @EVENTMags! | The Spadina Monologues

Leave a Reply

