"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

My latest VICE essay: Germany’s flea markets have a dirty little secret

vicethird

You guys know I’m a huge flea market nut. I’ve blogged about the stuff I’ve found before. But the flea markets I used to patron in Germany when I lived there (specifically Cologne and Berlin) all carried lots of Nazi junk, which for a Canadian, is not something you ever get used to seeing. In this piece, I talk about the disturbing nature of these pieces, and also how they have affected me.

I feel like our morbid interests aren’t inherently good or bad. It’s what we do with those interests that’s important … I think learning from this stuff is a positive thing.

Click here or on the above photo to read it.

I took all of the photographs featured in the piece. The one of the framed monochrome photographs on a mantle is actually in my bedroom. Those couples just look so happy!

If you missed it, read my last VICE essay about my stint on reality TV, or my first VICE piece about my wicked-awesome eyebrows.

Fanks for reading, munchkins.

5 responses

  1. Holy crap that’s such an awesome find!

    March 21, 2015 at 2:36 PM

    • fanks lady! Yeah german flea markets always BLOWWWWW MY MIIIIIIND

      March 21, 2015 at 2:36 PM

  2. Pingback: My Writing Space | The Spadina Monologues

  3. Pingback: My latest #VICE essay: Don’t ask me to kill your cat, m’kay? | The Spadina Monologues

  4. Pingback: Check me out in Toronto Life! | The Spadina Monologues

Leave a Reply

