"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

How Men Can Stop Street Harassment: my latest article in @VICE

Earlier this week I endured yet again an incident of street harassment. It happens almost every day. So much so, that it’s almost normalized as part of my daily routine. Get up, take a shower, grab a cuppa from Timmies, and tell some douchenozzle to go fuck himself.

This incident was different because a nice young couple came to my aid. I started thinking about all the ways men can be an ally to women to women when they observe street harassment. So many men, supposedly “nice guys,” will just ignore it and pretend it isn’t happening. BUT IT IS HAPPENING, and we need your support and solidarity.

Do you nice guys call out harassment when you see it? Or do you just stand there and watch whilst thinking about how nice you are?

So, with some encouragement from my editor, I wrote about it for VICE. Read it in full here. Enjoy!

And as always, you can visit the official Christine Estima dot com to read more of my published essays, op-eds, columns, short stories, travel writing, and much much more.


3 responses

  1. FYI: Always keep a pepper spray in your bag. Go take a karate course. Don’t cower. Be prepared to surprise your harasser.

    August 5, 2017 at 4:37 PM

    • this is a shitty response. Instead of telling women how not to get attacked, maybe you should tell men to NOT ATTACK WOMEN.
      The onus is on men to stop this, not women.

      August 7, 2017 at 3:54 PM

      • I am sorry if my response offended you. Believe me, I am on your side. I have two girls and I have encouraged them to carry pepper spray. As a former Law Enforcement Officer, I know what an element of surprise can do.
        Again, I am sorry if I have offended you. That was not my intention. Stay strong.

        August 11, 2017 at 7:24 AM

Leave a Reply

