"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

Other-Worldly and Vaguely Threatening: Part 2

It seems like at least once a year, I do a photoshoot. A couple of times, it’s been for magazines, but mostly it’s for photog friends who think I give good face, as it were. My friend Graham Isador, who’s a fellow in many ways (we both do the thee-ahh-tah, we both do Live Storytelling, we both freelance the snot out of VICE), has taken up the fine art of photog’ing and we met up earlier this week on the West Toronto Rail Path to werrrrk, shashay, chantez.

Last year I said that, you know, since I’m a professional writer, I’m not interested in looking “pretty.” I want to look “other-worldly and vaguely threatening.” This shoot is kind of an extension of that idea.

But then Graham said I was “ridiculously photogenic” so of course I had to A) giggle like a twee dickhead, and B) tell all of you people.

Ah yes, one of my typewriters made an appearance. ‘Natch. Those things are my babies.

I like doing these fun little activities every once in a while considering that my daily life is super unglamorous. I spend eight hours a day banging away at my laptop, whilst still wearing yesterday’s yoga pants and rocking a mad case of boob sweat. So when this opportunity came up, I was like, “an excuse to pluck my unibrow and wear deodorant!”

But before you comment to say I look like a rain cloud of doom…..

 

Many thanks to Graham for these wonderful shots!

Don’t forget to check out Christine Estima dot com for more from my previous photoshoots and press coverage!

 

2 responses

  1. I love having an excuse to do my eyebrows!

    August 30, 2017 at 10:40 AM

    • Er, I mean, I *could* just do them. But as if that’s gonna happen. 😛

      August 30, 2017 at 10:41 AM

Leave a Reply

