"Blogging isn't journalism, it's graffiti with punctuation."

The 1884 Printing Office

Another ghost sign! I found this beauty in Peckham on Chadwick Road.

Look at this gorgeous thing. Established in 1884, they knew them that for ‘business building’ you needed to print stuff! Flyers, releases, cards, documents! Why not print them all fancy-like! I WANT TO BE ESTABLISHED IN 1884. You guys know that I love typewriters and antique modes of communication and writing, so I’m literally aching with jealousy that I wasn’t around in 1884 to check out the machines and mechanisms involved in printing back them. I want to see men in suspenders stained with ink and with paper cuts using big iron machines to print on delicate pieces of paper! THINK OF THE TYPEWRITERS.


I wonder why they went over this with that black shadow? Or was the shadow there first?


I can’t make out what it says on the right. Any ideas?

Check out my Ghost Signs category for more ghost signs I’ve photographed.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.